Painting: An act of surrender

As a painter, my job is to learn surrendering. I am finally, slowly figuring it all out. There is no shortcut! Painting isn’t simply an act of surrender, but an act of FAITH. As I build a painting layer upon layer, month after month, not knowing whether the whole thing is ever going to amount to anything visually pleasing to me, I have no choice but to trust the process. With all the peeks and lows along the way, FAITH is what keeps me going.

Below some new work using cold wax medium, oils and various mixed media. I’ve always been all about texture, this technique allows me to create works that are heavily textured, tactile and intriguing.

IMG_9053

IMG_8993

Leave a comment

close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star